Xenio in a Bottle

Maze Rats spells in Cairn

Hello adventurers! It's been a while since I've posted anything, but I come once again with stuff for Cairn. Like the average blogger, I am obsessed with a specific ruleset and will talk about it nonstop, feel free to judge me.

So, I was flipping through Maze Rats for the 100th time, and as always I was thinking about how amazing of a ruleset it is. Quick, easy to pick up, highly customizable, etc. If you are reading this blog post I'm sure you are familiar with the game. When I got to the spell system, which is probably my favorite part of it, it suddenly hit me: This would be great on Cairn! So here we are, let's do it.

This is supposed to work alongside Cairn's built-in magic system. Not as a substitute (But you do you). From now on, I'm gonna refer to it as Chaotic Magic, in opposition to Cairn's original Spellbook Magic. It can be implemented in two ways:

  1. At character creation, if someone would roll on a spellbook, they can choose to instead be able to cast Chaotic Magic.
  2. Something wild and magical happened to an adventurer? Now they are tainted with chaotic energies that can manifest in spells. It can even be the consequence of a failed casting of a spellbook.

Defined how one get's it, now on how it works:

Done. Simple as that, you have a nice way of bringing some fun wackiness to your magicky PCs. It also has more of the feel that is something that you character has and no one can take it from them, different from a spellbook that can be stolen and you no longer have magic. In compensation, is a bit more limited and dangerous.

It goes without saying that it's usable in any game based on Into the Odd.

It also is a great way to generate relics. Roll up one spell, think of a thematically appropriate recharge and holding item and Voila, you made a really cool and unique relic. The potential is immense.

Anyways, I hope you like it and use it in your games, and tell me what you think in the comments. See y'all next time!


#cairn #homebrew #ito #magic #maze-rats #spells